Frequently Asked Questions

The Basics

Ottawa's light rail transit network is called the O-Train, and incorporates both the Confederation Line and the Trillium Line. Originally, the name O-Train referred exclusively to the now called Trillium Line before it was renamed in late 2014.

There are 18 stations in the current LRT network. This breaks down to 13 on the Confederation Line and 5 on the Trillium Line.

OC Transpo is the organization that operates the public transit service in the City of Ottawa. OC stands for Ottawa-Carleton, which was the region prior to the amalgamation of the City of Ottawa in 2001.

The cost for an adult to ride the LRT and Bus network is $3.60 cash or $3.55 using a Presto Card (as of October 2019). Full details and current pricing can be found on OC Transpo's website here :

The LRT system is designed in such a way that certain stations (for example, Blair, Hurdman, Tunney's Pasture and Greenboro) incorporate fare-paid zones. Buses arrive in the fare-paid zones of these stations and don't require using a fare gate to pass to the trains. At non-fare-paid zone stations, a regular bus transfer can be used, both PRESTO cards and the QR codes on the paper transfers are accepted at the fare gates to enter.

To transfer from one train line to another, you must travel to Bayview Station, the only station in the network where multiple lines meet. From here, you can go to the lower level to reach the Trillium Line platforms, or go to the upper level to reach the Confederation Line platforms.