Articles and News

Blue line extension – Naming committee begins work

In its role as project manager and principal contractor of the Blue line extension, the Société de transport de Montréal (STM) is announcing the implementation of a naming committee, which held its first meeting this week. The committee's members have expertise in a variety of relevant fields and belong to various industries and organizations. Their main task will be to propose names for the future stations on the Blue line extension by summer 2021.

"The members of the committee have no small task ahead, and I would like to thank them for answering the call. Expectations are high, and the names that we select will be written in history. I would also like to note that the committee's appointed members reflect the recommendations of the Public Consultation Commission held last winter in the interest of ensuring proper representation of Montréal's diversity," said Philippe Schnobb, Chair of the STM Board of Directors, who also chairs this committee.

Committee members

  • Émilie Thuillier, Mayor of the Ahuntsic-Cartierville borough and member of the Executive Committee, head of the democratic process, transparency, communications, citizen experience and heritage
  • Sonia Djelidi, member of the Conseil interculturel de Montréal
  • Anuradha Dugal, president of the Conseil des Montréalaises
  • André Dudemaine, founding member of Land InSights, Indigenous cultural consultant
  • Yvan Lamonde, historian and member emeritus of the Société historique de Montréal
  • Odile Craig, urban planning advisor, Saint-Léonard borough representative
  • Jocelyn Jobidon, director of urban development, Villeray–Saint-Michel–Parc-Extension borough representative
  • Mathieu Perreault, urban planning advisor, Anjou borough representative
  • Sonia Vibert, head of the Heritage division, Direction de l'Urbanisme, Ville de Montréal
  • Dominic Duford, urban planning advisor for the Heritage division, Direction de l'Urbanisme, Ville de Montréal
  • Laurence Parent, member of the STM Board of Directors, Transport adapté customer representative
  • Philippe Schnobb, Chair of the STM Board of Directors, committee chair
  • Maha Clour, Lead Project Manager, Municipal and Commercial Interfaces, STM
  • Benoît Clairoux, Institutional Communications Advisor, STM

General approach for proposals
The committee's first tasks are to establish the criteria for a proposal to be added to the list of potential names and to determine how to proceed with analyzing the proposals and making final decisions. The committee has already decided to make plenty of space for women in the proposal analysis. It has also set an intention to ensure that the final choices represent multicultural and Indigenous realities. The process will also involve the Banque de toponymie municipale, a list of place names continuously updated through citizen suggestions. Selections will then be made by the appropriate governing bodies within the partner organizations of the Blue line extension project.

"In a few months, citizens, customers and employees will be able to find out what names have been chosen for the new stations. With the naming committee beginning its work, we are one step closer to completing the Blue line extension!" said Schnobb.

Source : STM

A transformational step for Alstom: completion of ...
Réseau express métropolitain: Work begins on the N...